And, heave!

With the transmission disconnected and the motor mounts unbolted, it was a simple matter to let the hoist lift the motor off the chassis. I had planned an engine party for various guys I know, but the process of lifting the engine was so simple that I think a party would have been a bigger deal than the action merited.  Frankly, I did it all by myself.  The bottom image shows the motor with the clutch and housing in place.

 

Getting the motor onto the engine stand was a bit more difficult.  The clutch housing had to come off first, and I will make that a separate post, but mounting the engine to the stand fits here.

As you can see from the image above, I put a loose piece of pressure-treated 2×6 under the back end of the clutch and another length of 2×4 under the front.  Yes, it could have hung there, but lowering the seriously heavy motor onto the wood supports took the weight off the hoist’s ram (hey, I’m borrowing this and need to treat it nicely).

Off came the clutch, flywheel, and clutch housing and then it went back into the air to get in position for the engine stand.  I had bought half-inch grade 8 bolts, but it turns out the bolts holding the clutch housing to the block were 7/16-inch.  It required a couple of trips to the hardware store to match everything up correctly.  I hadn’t noticed that the upright on the stand cants back at an angle, so I needed four bolts all right, but of two different lengths.  The other problem was that the engine stand was built for V-6 and V-8 engines and the movable arms did not match up very well with an old straight-six motor.  I finally unbolted the arms and improvised—all the parts are there, but not in the order intended.  Hey, it works.

 

So, this is what my crowded little workspace looks like now as I begin tearing down the engine.

2018dec26-11

I think the job is just beginning.

One thought on “And, heave!

  1. Pingback: Starter and clutch. | The Green Truck

Leave a comment